Appen vs Clickworker vs TELUS vs Outlier: Who Pays More

Indian rater wearing a headset at night, the work behind appen vs clickworker vs telus vs outlier.

On appen vs clickworker vs telus vs outlier, only TELUS Digital and Outlier publish a rate an Indian applicant can actually read, and both sit near 8 US dollars an hour. Appen and Clickworker price per project and publish nothing. After payout fees, the route your money travels matters more than the gap between them.

Listen to this article, about 11 minutes. A synthetic voice reads the article and announces each section title as it begins; tables are read row by row and the questions at the end are left out.

Recorded 25 September 2026 from the article as published that day. Press a chapter to jump there; the highlighted line is what is playing. A play button sits beside every section heading, and once you scroll past this player a bar at the bottom of the screen keeps the controls in reach. Tap or click any sentence to hear the reading start from there.

On this page: which two of the four publish a rate an Indian applicant can read before applying, why the review numbers are not India numbers, what each payout route costs on the way to a rupee account, and what the Trustpilot records show.

Think you already know this? Five questions, one minute.

Every answer is on this page. Answer from what you know now; number four is the one the comparison sites never run.

  1. 1. Which of the four tell you an hourly rate an Indian applicant can read before applying?

  2. 2. Reviews quote Outlier at 14, 23, even 53 dollars an hour. What do Outlier’s own India facing pages advertise?

  3. 3. Agar koi platform join karne ke liye paisa maange, to?

  4. 4. Route 480 USD a month through PayPal India. Roughly how much does the fee stack take?

  5. 5. Which platform has by far the most Trustpilot reviews, and what do its reviewers praise most?

Which of these four actually publishes a rate for India?

This is the question every comparison of these platforms skips, and it turns out to be the one that separates them. We checked all four on 23 September 2026 and read what each company publishes itself, not what a review site remembers it publishing.

PlatformPublished rate an Indian applicant can readSource, read 23 September 2026
TELUS Digital8 USD per hour, stated on the listing itselfQuality Assurance Rater, English (India), ReqEG-508
OutlierUp to 7.50 USD per hour on the Hindi voice queue, up to 7.50 on the Telugu writing queueHindi Voice AI Evaluator and Telugu Freelance Writer
Clickworker, now part of LXTNothing. Paid per task, rate visible only once you are inside a taskClickworker support, how you get paid
Appen, through CrowdGenNothing India specific. Rates are set per project and per countryCrowdGen contributor page
Every row read from the company’s own page on 23 September 2026. Rates on gig platforms change without announcement, so check the live listing before you plan around any of this.

Two of the four tell you the number before you invest three hours in an assessment. Two do not. That alone is worth something, because the assessment is unpaid on all four.

Why is the India rate so much lower than the numbers in the reviews?

Because most of those numbers are not India numbers. Search for Outlier pay and you will find $14, $23, $45, even $53 an hour quoted with great confidence. Those figures are real, and they belong to specialist English queues, coding queues and PhD level work priced for contributors in other countries. Outlier’s own India facing language pages, read today, advertise up to $7.50 an hour on the Hindi voice queue and up to $7.50 on the Telugu writing queue, with surge pricing adding an average of about 7.5% on the Hindi queue.

Outlier is explicit about why in its own caveat: rates vary by expertise, skills assessment, location and project need, higher rates may go to PhDs, and lower rates apply during onboarding and overtime phases. Location is in that list, and it is doing a lot of work. We have said elsewhere on this site that Outlier’s common queues pay $14 to $18, and for a contributor in India applying to the standard language queues, that is too optimistic a number to lead with. The India facing pages say $7.50.

The same correction applies in the other direction to TELUS. Its India rater listing says, in one flat sentence, that the hourly earnings are 8 USD per hour and payment is based on completed tasks. That last clause matters: it is not an hourly wage with idle time paid, it is a rate applied to work you finish. Our full TELUS Digital rater review goes through the five year residency rule and the assessment gate.

A notebook, glasses and a dark phone beside where appen vs clickworker vs telus vs outlier payouts arrive.
Payout route fees decide how much of a dollar rate survives the trip to an Indian bank.

Payment kab aata hai, aur kaunse raaste se?

All four pay in US dollars, which means the payout route is not a detail, it is a line item. Here is what each publishes.

PlatformScheduleRoutes offeredPlatform’s own cut
OutlierWeekly, processed Tuesdays for the Tuesday to Monday weekPayPal, Airtm, ACHNone published
ClickworkerWeekly, bill runs start each Wednesday, money typically lands Wednesday to FridayPayPal, Payoneer, eWallet, Airtm, ACH, SEPAPayPal 2%, Airtm 1%, Payoneer 2.50 euro local, ACH nil, SEPA 0.18 euro
Appen, CrowdGenPer project, withdrawn from the platform balancePayPal, Payoneer, Airtm and othersNone published
TELUS DigitalNot stated on the India rater listingNot stated on the India rater listingNot stated
Sources: Outlier FAQ, Clickworker payment method fees, CrowdGen. All read 23 September 2026.

Clickworker also sets minimums before it will pay you at all: the equivalent of 20 euros or dollars for Payoneer and for direct bank transfer outside the EU, and 10 for PayPal, SEPA and ACH. None of the four charges you to join, and CrowdGen says so in as many words on its own page. Agar koi platform join karne ke liye paisa maange, to woh platform nahin hai, woh scam hai.

How much of that dollar rate actually reaches your bank account?

Here is the calculation none of the comparison pages run. Take the TELUS rate, because it is the one that is published: 8 USD an hour, 15 hours a week, four weeks. That is $480 gross in a month. At the 23 September 2026 rate of about 95.71 rupees to the dollar, the headline value is roughly Rs 45,940.

Now route it through PayPal, using PayPal India’s published schedule. Receiving an international commercial payment costs 4.40% plus a fixed fee, which is $0.30 on a US dollar transaction. That is $21.42, leaving $458.58. Converting that balance into rupees costs 3.00% above the base exchange rate, another $13.76. Total cost $35.18, which is 7.33% of the gross, and about Rs 42,574 arrives. You have lost roughly Rs 3,368, or a little over five hours of the work that earned it.

On Clickworker the same route costs more, because Clickworker takes its own 2% before PayPal takes anything. Run the same $480 through both and the stack comes to about 9.2%, leaving roughly Rs 41,722. The task rate was never the thing that changed.

Payoneer is where honesty is required, because its published pricing does not answer the question. It lists 0.50% for moving funds between Payoneer balances and $1.50 for a local bank withdrawal in supported corridors, which on $480 would be a trivial $3.90. It does not publish a USD to INR withdrawal rate for India, and the effective cost Indian contributors report is nearer 2%, about $9.60. Both of those are true statements and they are not the same number, so treat the published schedule as a floor rather than a quote. Our comparison of PayPal, Payoneer and Wise for Indian freelancers works through the routes properly, and receiving foreign payments in India covers the paperwork that follows.

A freelance worker deciding between appen vs clickworker vs telus vs outlier in a cozy cafe.
Starting with the right platform saves time and maximizes your remote income.

What do the public review records show about each platform?

These are contributor reviews, which is testimony rather than evidence. People who have been deactivated write reviews and people who are quietly earning mostly do not, so read the volume alongside the score. We read the Trustpilot record for all four on 23 September 2026.

PlatformReviewsTrustScoreThe complaint that repeats
Outlier5,1704.0Sudden account deactivation with a generic explanation, and unpaid onboarding
Clickworker3,1722.4Provisional credits reversed after a client rejects work, and permanent closures without a stated reason
Appen3711.4Hours reduced after completion, one reviewer reporting 62 hours worked and 4.85 hours paid
TELUS International3011.2Long unpaid assessments followed by rejection without feedback
Trustpilot, read 23 September 2026. Clickworker’s page showed a star breakdown that does not reconcile with its own 2.4 score across two separate reads, so we are quoting the score and the review count only.

The pattern across the four is consistent and worth stating plainly: the two platforms with the lowest scores are the two with the smallest review counts and the longest unpaid assessment stages. Outlier’s 4.0 across more than five thousand reviews is the outlier in the set, and its praise is specific and repeated, that the weekly Tuesday payout actually arrives. Its complaints are equally specific, and they are about deactivation rather than about money owed on work already approved. Where the accounts agree with the official guidance: none of the four is accused of charging a joining fee. Where they disagree: every one of the four publishes a smooth onboarding story, and the reviews describe assessments that eat hours nobody pays for.

To sabse pehle kaunsa try karna chahiye?

On published numbers, TELUS at 8 USD an hour is the highest rate of the four that an Indian applicant can read before applying, and it is the only one that states a rate on the job listing itself. Outlier is a close second at up to $7.50 on its India language queues, with a far better payout reputation and a much larger body of reviews behind it. Clickworker and Appen publish no India rate at all, and both carry review records that make a poor first impression.

Weigh one more cost that none of the four puts a number on, because it is paid in hours rather than rupees. Every platform here gates entry behind an unpaid assessment, and the review records suggest those assessments are not short. Reviewers describe qualification stages running to several hours, followed in many cases by a rejection with no feedback attached. Treat that time as the real price of admission, budget it once rather than repeatedly, and do not spend it on a platform that will not tell you the rate first. That single rule removes half this list.

A sensible order, then: apply to TELUS and Outlier in parallel, since both assessments are unpaid and there is no reason to spend that time serially. Keep Clickworker as microtask filler rather than as an income plan, and treat Appen as the one to revisit if the pipeline improves. Full reviews of each sit at Appen India, Clickworker India and Outlier AI in India, and the wider list is in which AI training platforms actually accept India.

One last thing, because it is the number that quietly decides this. Pick your payout route before you pick your platform. A contributor on the $7.50 queue who withdraws through a 2% route keeps more than a contributor on the $8 queue who withdraws through a 9% one. The dollar rate is what the platform advertises. The rupees in your account are what you actually earned.

Frequently asked questions

Which pays more for Indians, Appen or Outlier?

Outlier, on published rates. Outlier advertises up to 7.50 US dollars an hour on its India facing Hindi and Telugu queues. Appen, through CrowdGen, publishes no India rate at all and prices each project by country, and Indian contributors most commonly report rates well below that. Neither charges anything to join.

TELUS Digital India rater ka rate kya hai?

The India Quality Assurance Rater listing states 8 US dollars an hour, with payment based on completed tasks rather than on hours logged. The role is part time and remote, and it requires that you have been resident in India for the last five consecutive years and that you work as a freelancer.

Do any of these four platforms charge a joining fee?

No, and this is worth knowing before a fake recruiter tells you otherwise. CrowdGen states on its own page that it will never ask you to pay anything to join its projects, and none of TELUS, Outlier or Clickworker charges to register. Any request for a registration or training fee means you are not talking to the platform.

Payment milne mein kitna time lagta hai?

Outlier processes weekly on Tuesdays for work done in the Tuesday to Monday week. Clickworker starts its bill runs each Wednesday, with money usually arriving between Wednesday and Friday. Appen pays per project from your platform balance. The TELUS India rater listing does not state a payment schedule.

What is the minimum payout on Clickworker?

The equivalent of 20 euros or dollars for Payoneer and for direct bank transfers outside the European Union, and 10 for PayPal, SEPA and ACH. You are included in the next bill run automatically once you pass the minimum and have entered your tax details, so an unfilled tax section is a common reason a payout does not run.

Why do reviews quote Outlier rates of 20 or 50 dollars an hour?

Because those are specialist queues, usually coding, advanced mathematics or PhD level subject work, and usually priced for contributors outside India. Outlier’s own caveat lists location among the factors that set your rate. The India facing language pages advertise up to 7.50 dollars an hour, which is the figure to plan against.

Finished the page? The same five questions from the top, to see what stuck.


Platform rules and rates change without notice. This page was verified in September 2026 and is rechecked on the Sunday refresh. If you hit something different, tell us in the comments and we will update it.

Questions and corrections

Platform rules change without notice. If you hit something different when you applied, say so here and we will verify it and update the page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *